Written by Joel Delgado

San Antonio Scorpions Public Relations

U.S. Soccer announced the first- and second-round draws for the 99th edition of the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, which includes teams from all levels of American Men’s soccer.

The San Antonio Scorpions will host their first ever U.S. Open Cup game on May 22 in the second round of the tournament, which begins later this month. The team will face the winner of the first round matchup between the ASC New Stars and the Laredo Heat at Blossom Athletic Center (BAC). Game time is set for a 7:30 p.m. start time.

The victor of the match will either face the Houston Dynamo or FC Dallas of MLS in the third round on May 29, when MLS teams enter the tournament.

The San Antonio Scorpions front office will mail season ticket holders their bonus game tickets for the game on May 22. Standing room only tickets, starting at $15, are now on sale. For tickets, call the Scorpions office at 210 637 3411 or click on http://www.sanantonioscorpions.com

“We are very excited for the opportunity to host a game in this tournament,” Scorpions coach Tim Hankinson said. “It will be our first time competing so we want to leave a mark that people will notice.”

This year’s edition of the U.S. Open Cup, which features teams from professional and amateur level soccer in the United States, features a modern era record 64 teams that includes all U.S.-based MLS, NASL and USL PRO teams for the first time ever.

This is also the first year that clubs representing the NASL will take part in the oldest national soccer tournament in the United States. For the Scorpions, it will also be the first time they participate in the national tournament.

The first four rounds of the tournament will take place in back-to-back weeks from May 15 all the way through June 5. The quarterfinals will be held on June 26 and the semifinals are set for July 10.

The tournament final will be played on Aug. 7 or 8 and the winner of the tournament earns a CONCACAF Champions League berth.

The Seattle Sounders of MLS have won the tournament each of the past three years, defeating the Chicago Fire in the U.S. Open Cup Final in 2011 by a score of 2-0.